top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Louise

I Now Resemble A Lizard - PUPPPS/PEP


As if resembling a bowling ball on legs wasn't enough, I now seem to have developed

a skin disorder which has resulted in me resembling a lizard/snake/bearded dragon, or any amphibian for that matter. This, however, is the least of my worries. Let me tell you, the itching is UNBEARABLE. I may as well have a million ants crawling over my bump. This would be preferable - as my new identity as a lizard I could simply slurp these up. Even as my human form, eating ants would be so worth it to alleviate the itch.


I apparently have PUPPPS/PEP - Pruritic Urticarial Papules and Plaques of Pregnancy (a bit of a mouthful but sounds more dramatic when seeking sympathy from others), or also known as Polymorphic Eruption of Pregnancy.


It is a skin disorder which affects pregnant women, usually in the third trimester. It is also more common in first pregnancies and when the skin has to stretch more. I am now 38 weeks, this is my first pregnancy and my skin has seemingly had to stretch significantly (I have gained 3 stone (?!) and refuse to accept that this is due to any weight gain around my bum/arms/legs...) So, typically, I tick all the boxes. There are exceptions though and any pregnant woman is essentially at risk - 1 in 200 apparently.

As for symptoms, well... I am not exaggerating about resembling a lizard (as you can see)! The itching is the major factor. For me this started in and around my stretch marks, which is common. I have developed small, red lumps and my bump feels all...bumpy! The itching is the absolute pits. I have woken up frantically scratting away to the point of me violently rocking the bed. This caused a bit of a panic as poor Dr Josh thought I was having a seizure!


It is one of those beyond annoying itches where you know that if you scratch it it will only end up sore, but the scratching feels sooooo good that you have to use all of your willpower to refrain from doing so. I have never experienced an itch like this. I have simultaneously considered using a fork as a scratching device whilst also contemplating wearing the baby's scratch mitts for my own safety (which of course would not fit - but if they did adult-sized ones...in fact, do they?!...)


It can also spread to the limbs and under the breasts. It can also cause small blisters which leak straw-coloured fluid before crusting over. Oh how delightfully attractive!


The important thing to note, however, is that it doesn't harm the baby. Hurray!


Treatment involves: antihistamines, steroid creams (both must be prescribed) cool

baths, wet towels, wearing loose clothing and using emollient creams. My new best friends are Sudocrem and E45. Although, sadly, neither seem to be reducing the itch completely so we may well be falling out very soon.

My New Best Friends!

The cure generally seems to be delivery. Hurry up please baby, before I scratch myself to the desert!









Note: Allegedly PUPPPS/PEP is also more common in women carrying boys. I sincerely hope that isn't the case for me as it will mean returning the 1000+ pink items I have been unable to resist.






54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page